PM Netanyahu Meets with French Economy and Finance Minister Bruno LeMaire - Israël Science Info

PM Netanyahu Meets with French Economy and Finance Minister Bruno LeMaire

Bruno Le Maire et Benyamin Netanyahou Bruno Le Maire et Benyamin Netanyahou

Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu, this morning (Wednesday, 6 June 2018), at the French Economy and Finance Ministry, met with French Economy and Finance Minister Bruno LeMaire. Following the meeting the two held a joint working breakfast with major French company leaders. Among the sectors represented were telecommunications, transportation, aviation, sports, defense and technology.

Following is an excerpt from Prime Minister Netanyahu’s remarks to the company leaders: “Thank you, Mr. Minister. I thank you for your friendship and also for your clear statement about opposing the boycotting of Israeli products.

I spoke to Erich Schmidt of Google, who I meet regularly along with others who lead the great technological revolution that is taking the world. And I asked him, what about… Aren’t you concerned with boycotting Israel? And he said, “Boycotting Israel? I have to boycott myself? This is where the cutting-edge technology is taking place. I mean, there are only,” he said, “two centers…” His words, I don’t know what he says in Paris, but this is what he said to me in Israel. He said, “In some areas, Israel is more important than Silicon Valley. And the places where I invest, which is cutting-edge information technology there, we can’t afford to do that. It’s inconceivable.”

This is producing a tremendous change today in Israel. Example – Japan. Japanese companies, for years did not come to Israel. Mr. Abe came a few years ago at my invitation. I went to Japan and he came now. The extent of Japanese investment in Israel grew by 20 times. Twenty times. Not double, not triple, 20 times in three years. And the same thing is happening in Israeli investments, I don’t know if on the same scale.

Let me say about what is happening in Israel which may be of interest to you. I don’t think there are many areas that are not going to be technologized. I think the idea of high-tech and low-tech is being washed away. Not everywhere, but in many, many areas. It’s being washed away faster than people think. I think also that new markets are created. The traditional economic assumption, that if you have demand or supply that produces demand, demand that produces supply, this is all true. But innovation creates entirely new demands. Innovation is creating entirely new industries and revolutionizing old industries.”

Israël Science Info

Le Premier ministre israélien Benyamin Netanyahou rencontre le ministre français de l'Economie Bruno Le Maire - Israël Science Info

Le Premier ministre israélien Benyamin Netanyahou rencontre le ministre français de l’Economie Bruno Le Maire

Bruno Le Maire et Benyamin Netanyahou Bruno Le Maire et Benyamin Netanyahou

Le Premier ministre Benyamin Netanyahu a rencontré ce matin (mercredi 6 juin 2018), au ministère de l’Economie et des Finances, le ministre français de l’Economie et des Finances, Bruno Le Maire. À la suite de la réunion, ils ont organisé un petit déjeuner de travail commun avec les principaux dirigeants d’entreprises françaises. Parmi les secteurs représentés figuraient les télécommunications, les transports, l’aviation, les sports, la défense et la technologie.

Extrait des déclarations de Benyamin Netanyahu : «Merci, Monsieur le Ministre, je vous remercie pour votre amitié et pour votre déclaration claire sur l’opposition au boycott des produits israéliens. J’ai parlé à Erich Schmidt de Google, que je rencontre régulièrement ainsi que d’autres qui mènent la grande révolution technologique dans le monde. Et je lui ai demandé, Alors, n’êtes-vous pas concerné par le boycott d’Israël ? Et il a répondu : « Boycotter Israël ? Je devrais me boycotter moi-même ? C’est là (en Israël) que la technologie de pointe se développe. Il y a seulement deux centres… Dans certaines régions, Israël est plus important que la Silicon Valley. Et les endroits où j’investis, c’est-à-dire les technologies de l’information de pointe, ne peuvent pas se permettre de le faire (boycotter Israël). C’est inconcevable.« 

Cela marque un énorme changement aujourd’hui en Israël. Exemple, le Japon. Les entreprises japonaises, pendant des années, ne sont pas venues en Israël.  Je suis allé au Japon et M. Shinzo Abe est venu récemment à mon invitation. L’ampleur de l’investissement japonais en Israël a augmenté de 20 fois. Pas du double, ni du triple, de 20 fois en trois ans ! Et la même chose se passe dans les investissements israéliens…

Aucun domaine ne peut échapper aux technologies. L’idée de high-tech et de low-tech est en train de disparaître. Pas partout, mais dans de nombreux domaines. De nouveaux marchés sont créés. L’hypothèse économique traditionnelle, si vous avez une demande ou une offre qui produit de la demande, une demande qui produit de l’approvisionnement, tout cela est vrai. Mais l’innovation crée des exigences entièrement nouvelles. L’innovation crée des industries entièrement nouvelles et révolutionne les anciennes industries. »

Israël Science Info